Showcasing a musical fusion of Americana, Triple A, Funk, Blues, Texas Country, and Alternative Rock, Cody Joe Tillman & The Wicked Truth creates music that forces us to savor the deepest darkest parts of our souls – eerie in one note and colorful in the next.  A haunting namesake – about how the truth can often be something that we either don’t want to hear or tell – Cody Joe Tillman & The Wicked Truth is set to release its self-titled album, which was recorded at Rivergate Studios in Hendersonville, TN, and produced by Chris Henderson of 3 Doors Down.

“I’ve listened to Chris and 3 Doors Down’s music a lot over the years, and even covered a few of their songs at times,” says Tillman.  “Chris is as cool as they come, and did everything to encourage me and push me to be better in the studio.  He could hear what I should have been singing already in a few of the songs, and knew just how to tell me to get the notes he, and ultimately I, wanted and could be extremely proud of.  We had 11 days to do 11 songs from start to finish.  We actually worked till the last possible second before our flight left to take us back to Texas.”

Says Henderson of working with Tillman: “I was drawn to Cody’s style as a person before I heard his music.  Once I had listened to his music, I knew I wanted to work with him.  He was a producer’s dream.  Diverse, confident, and, man, what a voice!”

In addition to Henderson’s production mastery, the album also benefitted from current 3 Doors Down lead guitarist Chet Roberts’ input behind the boards, as well as his contributions on both vocals and guitar. “Chet’s lead on ‘No Approval’ could not be any more perfect,” says Tillman.  “It’s high-speed from go and has a part where it feels and sounds like he’s changing gears on the guitar. I remember screaming profanities out loud when it happened because I was so excited.”  Also contributing drum parts to the album was 3 Doors Down’s current drummer, Greg Upchurch.  From the low, gritty, earthy tone of “See You Around,” to the killer bass line of “Sunday Funday” (compliments of Glen Ackerman), to the simple yet stunning “Soldier Song” (written will Tillman was overseas in the Army right before he crossed the border into Iraq), the album is chock full of many musical flavors, each as interesting as the next.

Tillman, who has been singing “since he was old enough to talk,” watched his father play guitar at home, played in the church band and spent considerable time with his cousin, Mike “Mo” Land, who was in two different Southern rock bands (Second Helping and Justin Time). Picking up the guitar at 12, Tillman penned his first song at the age of 15.  Taking note of his talent, an uncle enrolled him in New School for the Arts in Arizona. Joining the Army later, he played for comrades in Iraq and won more than a talent show; Tillman is a decorated veteran, put in for a bronze star and receiving an Army Commendation Medal with Valor Device.  Returning home a changed man, Tillman went through rough times personally. As his marriage fell apart, he lashed out for a period of time by turning to fighting and drugs before a musical reprieve put him back on track.

Loaded with inspiration, Tillman’s struggles came to life through music and he became the voice of two bands, BLOWN and DRIVEN. Signed to an indie label in Austin, BLOWN shared the stage with Bob Schneider and Push Monkey and made numerous appearances on Austin’s
Infynit Hour TV Program. When that didn’t pan out, he returned to Houston, where good friend “Mean” Gene Kelton (Texas Blues Hall of Fame member) introduced Tillman to his sons, Sid and Jamie, who joined forces to form DRIVEN. Between the two gigs, Tillman appeared on Season 5 ofAmerica’s Got Talent where he truly learned what musical direction he was destined for, with his lyrical truths told in a style shadowing the legends of his influences: Scott Wieland (Stone Temple Pilots), Layne Staley (Alice In Chains), Chris Cornell (Soundgarden & Audioslave), and Jim Morrison.

Consisting of Tillman, longtime friend Casey Jouette (lead guitar), former BLOWN members Austin Krecz (drums, percussion) and Michael Alcayde (bass), as well as Justin Kociban (keys, guitar), the current lineup banded together in 2011.